Postato il

Knockin’ on Joe

 

These chains of sorrow, they are heavy it is true. And these locks cannot be broken, no, not with a thousand keys. O jailer you wear a ball-n-chain you cannot see. You can lay your burden down upon me. You can lay your burden down upon me.But you cannot lay down those memories.

 

Woooo wooo wooo Wooo wooo wooo Here I go knockin on Joe! This square foot of sky will be mine til I die. Knockin on Joe. Woooo wooo wooo All down the row. Knocking on Joe.

 

O Warden I surrender to your fists. Your fists can’t hurt me anymore. You know, this hands will never wash these dirty Death Row floors. O Preacher, come closer, you don’t scare me anymore. Just tell Nancy not to come here. And let me die in the memory of her arms.

 

Woooo wooo wooo Wooo wooo wooo Here I go knockin on Joe! This square foot of sky will be mine til I die. Knockin on Joe. Woooo wooo wooo All down the row. Knocking on Joe.

 

O Nancy’s body is a coffin, she wears my tombstone at her head. O Nancy’s body is a coffin, she wears my tombstone at her head.She wears her body like a coffin. She wears a dress of gold and red. She wears a dress of gold and red. She wears a dress of gold and red. Grave-looters at my coffin before my bodies even cold.

 

It’s a door for when I go Knockin on Joe. These hands will never mop your dirty Death Row floors. No! You can hide! You can run! O but your trial is yet to come. O you can run! You can hide! But you have yet to be tried! You can lay your burden down here. You can lie your burden down here. Knockin on Joe. You can lay your burden down here. You can lie your burden down here. Knockin on Joe. You can’t hurt me anymore. Knockin On Joe… [ad lib]

[Nick Cave da "The first born is dead" 1985]

 

Knockin on Joe é l’espressione usata dai carcerati americani per definire i gesti disperati (fratture autoinferte, automutilazioni) compiuti per evitare i lavori di corvè.

Un pensiero riguardo “

    utente anonimo ha detto:
    24 luglio 2007 alle 15:48

    ricordati di support emptyparas!!!
    🙂

    roark non loggato

Rispondi

